Day Nine

Dressember Day Nine: Cayla Barke (Bellingham, WA)

Make My Voice Loud
Cayla Barke
Canvas- Mixed Media, Acrylic, Watercolor

These pieces were created after my investigation into the world of sex work and particularly, sex trafficking four years ago. I want to recognize that the stories I reveal are not my own and this is not something that I take lightly. I have an immense privilege to be able to create a work of art where I have limited lived experience.

My purpose in creating these pieces is to allow for space. I think space is important. Space for stories to begin to be heard and the common discourse challenged. I hope to inspire people to look twice and wonder what is going on. I want the viewers to go back and research. I want them to think about how the systems in place set up a difficult and sometimes inescapable setting, but most of all I challenge hope to speak in this awful dwelling.

The Prince of peace, Lord of lords, and King of kings sees the captive. Hagar, a woman who was abused and taken advantage of to the point where she had no voice was met by God in a lonely place. She was the first person to name God and she named him El Roi, “the God who sees me” (Genesis 16:13). Redemption is in the plan and God is close.

unnamed.jpg

unnamed-1

unnamed-2

unnamed-3

To donate to our team page to support IJM and A21, two organizations fighting against slavery and injustice everyday, please click here.

Leave a Reply

